Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr has released 25-man list of invitees for high-profile friendlies against Senegal and Burkina Faso in London later this month.

Regular call-ups such as Wolverhampton Wanderers goalkeeper Carl Ikeme, Trabzonspor midfielder Ogenyi Onazi and Leicester City forward Ahmed Musa, are on the list.

But the team skipper John Obi Mikel and both strikers, Brown Ideye and Odion Ighalo, that made the move to China along with him in January are not included by Rohr.

Manchester City forward Kelechi Iheanacho, Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi, Watford forward Isaac Success and in-form Leicester midfielder Wilfred Ndidi also received call-ups to strengthen the squad.

Debut invitees are Germany-based forward Noah Joel Bazee and Holland-based defender Tyronne Ebuehi, who had earlier declined an invitation, while youngster Victor Osimhen, record top scorer at the FIFA U-17 World Cup, returns to the squad.

Nigeria will play against Senegal’s Teranga Lions on Thursday, March 23 before taking on the Etalons of Burkina Faso four days later. Both matches will be played at The Hive, home ground of Barnet Football Club in England.


Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Paul Ekong (KAA Gent, Belgium); Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Uche Henry Agbo (Granada FC, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Musa Muhammed (FC Zeljeznicar, Bosnia Herzegovina); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Gijon, Spain); Kingsley Madu (Zulte Waregem, Belgium); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Noah Joel Bazee (Hannover 96, Germany); Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg FC, Germany)

Leave a Reply