By Chinatu Jon

Few days to the kickoff of the 2017 edition of the African Cup of Nations, African football governing body, CAF has announced that the draws for the qualifying series of the biennial continental event will be held on Thursday, 12th January, 2017.

The draws will hold in Libreville, Gabon as a part of the build up to the kickoff of the 2017 AFCON which will commence on Saturday, 14th January.

The qualifying series is billed to start from the week starting on June 5. Chad and Cameroon will not be involved in this draw as Chad is banned for withdrawing from the AFCON 2017 Qualifiers while Cameroon will be the host of the 2019 tourney.

Big names like Nigeria, South Africa and Zambia who are all former champions will sit out of the tournament holding in Gabon this January.

Leave a Reply