The home-based senior national team have qualified for next year’s edition of the CHAN Championship taking place in Rwanda after playing out a goalless draw against Burkina Faso, but they had won the first leg played in Port Harcourt 2-0.


The Burkinabes threw all they had at the Super Eagles in a quest to level up on aggregates but the Nigerian defense was very active throughout the game.

Burkina Faso almost pulled one back in the 21st minute after Austin Oboroakpor handed the ball in the 18 yard box which led to a penalty, but the spot kick was put wide.

Gbolahan Salami and Chisom Chikatara were introduced in the second half to spice up the attack but there was more job to be done in the defense to ensure qualification for the Eagles.

Nigeria starting XI vs Burkina Faso:
Ikechukwu Ezenwa – Chima Akas, Orji Kalu, Austin Oboroakpo, Jamiu Alimi (Stephen Eze 46) – Paul Onobi, Ifeanyi Matthew, Bature Yaro – Ezekiel Bassey, Tunde Adeniji (Chisom Chikatara 71), Osas Okoro (Gbolahan Salami 57)

Leave a Reply