By Rachael Ugiagbe

John Obi Mikel with the UEFA Champions League trophy after Chelsea won it in 2012. ©

Super Eagles midfielder John Obi Mikel has been listed in Chelsea’s UEFA Champions League squad for the new season.

Mikel made the Champions League spot despite playing just one of Chelsea’s four Premier League matches this season, coming in as a substitute for Pedro Rodriguez in the Blues’ 3-2 away win at West Bromwich Albion.

Chelsea are in Group G alongside FC Porto, Dinamo Kyiv and Maccabi Tel-Aviv. And the team will be aiming to get pass the Round of 16, having been knocked out of the stage by Paris Saint German last season.

Chelsea’s Champions League squad:

1. Asmir Begovic
13. Thibaut Courtois
27. Jamal Blackman

2. Branislav Ivanovic
5. Kurt Zouma
6. Abdul Baba Rahman
24. Gary Cahill
26. John Terry
28. Cesar Azpilicueta

4. Cesc Fabregas
8. Oscar
7. Ramires
10. Eden Hazard
12. John Obi Mikel
14. Betrand Traore
16. Kenedy
21. Nemanja Matic
22. Willian

9. Radamel Falcao
17. Pedro Rodriguez
18. Loic Remy
19. Diego Costa
36. Ruben Loftus-Cheek

Leave a Reply